About 2016-10-30T22:28:05+00:00
Too many families in Newark are torn apart by violence and suffer the consequences of crime. Addressing this crisis requires focus and assistance from everyone in the city. As such, a group of civic leaders joined Mayor Baraka to form the Safer Newark Council.

Safer Newark Council Members

Mr. Ron Beit
RBH Group

Dr. Irene Cooper-Basch
Executive Officer
Victoria Foundation

Ms. Michellene Davis, Esq.
Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs
Barnabas Health

Ms. Jill Johnson
The Institute for Entrepreneurial Leadership

Dr. Robert L. Johnson
New Jersey Medical School

Ms. Lakeesha Eure
Newark Anti-Violence Coalition

Ms. Sharon Taylor
Senior Vice President
Corporate Human Resources
Prudential Financial

Mr. Larry Hamm
People’s Organization for Progress

Mr. Ryan Haygood
New Jersey Institute for Social Justice

Working Group

The Working Group is a group of public safety professional who focus on developing a coordinated, city-wide public safety strategy, comprised of several on-going pieces of public safety strategy.
  • City of Newark-Policy staff, Newark Community Street Team, Health and Wellness, and My Brother’s Keeper Newark
  • Newark Police Department
  • Essex County Probation and New Jersey State Parole
  • Newark Housing Authority
  • Rutgers-Newark-School of Criminal Justice and Psychology Department Independence Family of Services
  • NJ Transit
  • Victoria Foundation
  • Prudential-Global Security and Foundation
  • Ever Forward
  • PSE&G-Security and Foundation
  • Essex County Sheriff’s Office NJ State Police
  • Newark Public Schools Opportunity Youth Network Police Foundation
  • Independence Family of Services
  • Rutgers-Newark Center on Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice
  • Newark Anti-Violence Coalition
  • Equal Justice USA
The Stakeholder Network is currently being built as a mechanism to get feedback from law enforcement professionals, CBOs, service delivery professionals, and other Newark residents interested in public safety. Please contact elizabethr@amplifyinc.org to join to Stakeholder Network.